Paige and Miguel sit in her room, on her bed. Paige is cross legged against the headrest, Miguel is lying on his side facing toward her.

MIGUEL

Awww sweet honey, that’s great. What’d she say?

PAIGE

Nothing really… We kind of just fell asleep after.

MIGUEL

She didn’t say it back?

PAIGE

No… But it’s okay… I don’t mind…

MIGUEL

I’m sure she does honey, or else she will soon. It sounds like she was real happy to see you and spend time with you.

PAIGE

It was nice. We hadn’t seen each other in a good while.

MIGUEL

It’s always nice to catch up.

PAIGE

Exactly. We had a good time.

Miguel smiles.

MIGUEL

I’m happy for you.

PAIGE

Anything new with you on your hunt for a new boy?

MIGUEL

Not as of yet no.

 

PAIGE

I’m sure something will happen soon.

MIGUEL

Espero, Espero. Are you going to tell Sara about Danielle when she gets here?

PAIGE

I don’t know. I really want to… but I truly don’t know.

MIGUEL

Why not tell her? Aside from her boyfriend being a homophobic piece of shit?

PAIGE

What if he turns her against me?

MIGUEL

He didn’t turn her against me did he?

PAIGE

Does he even know you’re gay?

MIGUEL

Well I don’t try to hide it do I?

PAIGE

Fair point.

MIGUEL

I think you should tell her. She deserves to know.

PAIGE

I know.

Miguel’s phone beeps. He checks it.

MIGUEL

Speaking of, she just sent me a text. She’s outside.

PAIGE

Why didn’t she text me?

MIGUEL

Because you very rarely reply.

They laugh.

 

PAIGE

That’s true. I’ll be right back.

Paige gets up and leaves the room.

MIGUEL

What’s up Paige? What aren’t you telling me?

He gets up and moves around, stretching his arms and legs before sitting on the bed again. Paige and Sara enter.

SARA

Hey Miguel!

MIGUEL

Hey girl! Como estas?

SARA

Estoy muy bien, y tu?

MIGUEL

Muy Bien!

The trio all sit on the bed after Sara drops her bag on the floor. Paige goes back to her original position, Sara sits next to Miguel.

MIGUEL

Any news Sara?

SARA

Nothing really. Stephen and I will be together seven months next Thursday.

PAIGE

That’s great.

MIGUEL

It is.

SARA

What about you guys? Any news?

MIGUEL

I’ve not got anything anyways. Hunting for a new boyfriend for myself, getting nowhere though.

SARA

That sucks. I’m sure you’ll find someone. What about you Paige?

 

PAIGE

No news really. The Collins twins won’t leave me alone again. I fucking hate them.

SARA

What are they up to this time?

PAIGE

The usual. Telling me I don’t belong. Telling me no one cares about me. Telling me the truth really. The want me to kill myself.

SARA

They what?

PAIGE

They want me to kill myself so I won’t be a nuisance to them, or anyone else anymore.

SARA

Uggh those fucking twins. They’re taking this shit way too far. Paige. Don’t listen to them. You know none of it is true right? You fully deserve to be here, you are an amazing person. The Collins’ are just out to cause trouble. They’re out to hurt you.

PAIGE

Yeah. Yeah maybe.

MIGUEL

No maybe about it.

PAIGE

It’s okay you guys. I know I’m a bother. I know you’d rather I was gone. You probably talk about it all the time when I’m not around.

SARA

We do not! Paige we love you! You’re our best friend. Don’t ever say things like that. Don’t ever think things like that.

PAIGE

Yeah. Yeah okay. Whatever you say.

Silence follows.

MIGUEL

Paige, why don’t you tell Sara your other news?

SARA

What news?

 

PAIGE

Yeah what news?

MIGUEL

The news you just told me before she came over.

PAIGE

Oh. That.

MIGUEL

Yeah.

SARA

What is it?

PAIGE

It’s nothing really.

MIGUEL

Oh go on, tell her.

SARA

You can tell me anything Paige.

PAIGE

Well… it’s… uhm… I’ve kind of got a girlfriend.

SARA

You what?!

PAIGE

Her name is Danielle. We’ve been together for six months… I just told her I loved her.

SARA

You have a girlfriend? Hang on. You’re gay?

PAIGE

Bisexual actually-

SARA

And you didn’t fucking tell me?

PAIGE

I-

 

SARA

I what Paige? What? You didn’t want to tell your best friend you were Bi? You didn’t want to tell me you were in a long term relationship with someone? What the absolute fuck?

PAIGE

I was afraid…

SARA

AFRAID OF WHAT?

PAIGE

…That Stephen might turn you against me… that you might not want to be friends anymore.

SARA

Bullshit. Yeah Stephen may be a little weirded out by the gay thing, but does that stop me hanging out with Miguel? No! What the fuck Paige, I thought we were supposed to be friends.

PAIGE

We are friends Sara… You two are my best friends.

SARA

Clearly not. I have to get out of here.

Sara gets up, grabs her bag and storms out.

PAIGE

Sara wait!

MIGUEL

Let her go honey.

PAIGE

This is why I didn’t want to tell her.

MIGUEL

She’ll come round honey. Don’t worry. Once she realises how tough it’s been for you, she’ll come round.

PAIGE

I hope so.

They sit in silence for a few moments.

PAIGE

Sara! I’m so sorry I didn’t tell you. I know I should have, I’ve just been so stressed and worried about everything lately… and the Collins and school aren’t helping… and I couldn’t bear the thought of losing you. Can you forgive me?

SARA

I forgive you, don’t worry.  

MIGUEL

Paige?

PAIGE

Yeah Miguel?

MIGUEL

Who are you talking to?

PAIGE

Sara.

MIGUEL

What?

PAIGE

I’m talking to Sara.

MIGUEL

Paige honey Sara left.

PAIGE

…Y-yeah but then she came back…

They sit in silence.

PAIGE

She’s right there, look.

MIGUEL

Paige… Honey… there’s no one there… It’s just you and me.

PAIGE

…No… No Sara is sitting right there… she just accepted my apology…

MIGUEL

Oh Paige…

PAIGE

What?

MIGUEL

I didn’t realise things were this bad… why didn’t you tell me?

PAIGE

Tell you what?

MIGUEL

How bad things are. I mean you said you were struggling… but this much?

PAIGE

What do you mean?

MIGUEL

You never mentioned the hallucinations.

PAIGE

What?

MIGUEL

Sara isn’t here. Paige, talk to me. Please.

PAIGE

She is here.

MIGUEL

No. She’s not.  

PAIGE

I’m not crazy.

MIGUEL

I never said that.

PAIGE

But you’re thinking it. I can hear you thinking it. Stop thinking it.

Miguel stands up.

MIGUEL

Paige, listen.

PAIGE

Shut up! Shut up shut up shut up! You’re not real. My friends don’t talk to me like this. You’re the demons. My friends care…

MIGUEL

I’m not a demon Paige. It’s me, Miguel, Su Amigo.

Paige clutches her head and buries it in her lap.

PAIGE

GET OUT! GET OUT GET OUT GET OUT!

MIGUEL

Okay… Okay! Call me later honey okay?

Miguel backs away and leaves.

PAIGE

Get out… get out get out get out…. Get out…. Just leave me alone.

 

